Skip to content

Ogre Celeb Multiplayer Event! #PlayOgre

December 19, 2017

Important news! Ogre sees a major multiplayer event this Thursday! Here’s the news from the Auroch Digital forum (So now is the time to grab a copy of Ogre and join in the melee!)

Hello everyone!

Jake from Auroch Digital here, and wow do we have a Christmas treat for you! You may be aware that we’ve been running Ogre Multiplayer Fridays recently as a way to get as many people involved in multiplayer games as possible. These have been good fun and have led to some fantastic games between members of this great community, and even between the developers and fans!

This week, as it’s the final Friday before Christmas, we’re giving you a chance to play not just against the developers of the digital adaptation, but against a range of Ogre and Steve Jackson Games’ royalty and celebrities, including the man himself!

The full list of celebrities and Ogre experts taking part is as follows;

  • Steve Jackson – the legendary designer of Ogre, GURPS, Car Wars, Munchkin and more… Available between 11 am – 4 pm EST, 4 pm – 8 pm UK
  • Winchell Chung – the man behind the iconic artwork of the original board game. 12 pm – 4 pm EST, 5 pm – 9 pm UK
  • Steven J Marsh – GURPS Project Manager. 4 pm – 8 pm EST, 9 pm – 1 am UK
  • Drew Metzger – Ogre Line Editor. 2 pm – 5 pm EST, 7 pm – 10 pm UK
  • Devin Lewis – Game Designer and Munchkin Editorial Assistant. 5 pm – 8 pm EST, 10 pm – 1 am UK.
  • Jake Connor – that’s me! Community Manager at Auroch Digital. 10 am – 2 pm EST, 3 pm – 7 pm UK.
  • Steve Martin – Designer on the Ogre Steam adaptation. 10 am – 2 pm EST, 3 pm – 7 pm UK

All you need to do is log in at any of the above times, head to ‘Ranked Matchmaking’ and begin searching!

Important note – matchmaking is random and there is no strict guarantee that you will definitely be matched with any of the noted participants above. We will be available throughout the day and playing against the first opponents we match against. We will be playing multiple games so if you don’t match someone above immediately, feel free to try again later! As a rule of thumb, a game takes around 30-45 mins.

As always on Multiplayer Fridays, there are six key times to be aware of, if you want to keep matching fellow players outside of the celebrity slots:

Friday 22nd December
UK – 3PM, 5PM, 7PM, 9PM, 11PM, 1AM
Eastern – 10AM, 12PM, 2PM, 4PM, 6PM, 8PM
Pacific – 07AM, 09AM, 11AM, 1PM, 3PM, 5PM

As always, while you do need to be online to matchmake with an opponent, once a game is in progress you can safely log off, play single player or other multiplayer games, and make custom scenarios. You’ll also receive a notification within Steam whenever your opponent finishes all their actions – perfect if your opponent is halfway across the world. Just remember that if you are playing a celebrity, you need to complete your game during their scheduled time slot on December 22.

Pro tip: you can participate in multiple games at once. Simply repeat the procedure to enter a Ranked or Custom Game. To see your active games, just go to the Multiplayer screen, and select ‘Active Games’. You should see ‘Ranked’ and ‘Custom’ tabs, where each type of game is held.

We look forward to seeing you on the battlefield this Friday!

ss_b4b00816d87c0d8be8019bbe31adafef40faecbb.600x338

PS. If you’re on Steam, join the forum too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: